FPVLAB

Thread: Flying Club - Public Land

Flying Club - Public Land

Does anyone know the "rules" around flying clubs on public land? Long story short, I have been flying at a spot now for several years. A couple years ago a guy came up there and started flying after being kicked out of a club. I recently started going back up there and see that he mows a small area for himself. I left him a note saying that I would be willing to help him mow / put gas in the mower if he'd like. He started some static a couple years ago because he doesn't like FPV, and I was more trying to extend an olive branch so I don't have to be stressed out when flying up there. Anyway, he texted me to call him after getting my note so that "he could fill me in on what's going on up there". I have a strong suspicion that he is going to try to pull something to the effect of "we have a club up there now" and attempt to try to make it sound like I can't fly up there. I want to call and get it over with, but I want to know what the actual rules are on that stuff so I can strategize my reply if the conversation does go that direction. I don't think anyone can claim exclusive access to public land like that, but wanted to get the take of some people that might be in clubs or have been in a similar situation. Thanks!

Navigator
    public land like BLM, state parks, state forest, national forest are all fine for you to fly as far as I have read for my area. National parks are the only one you cant fly at.

If hes got some understanding with the forest service or whatever thats fine, but there could be no way he could tell you not to go there unless its a personally owned plot in the middle of public land. Those types of privately owned dots in the middle of state/national land are common so I'd look into that first. they are usually associated with active mine claims. if they arent flat out private residences
    Last edited by Tronski; 6th July 2017 at 05:08 PM.