Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ground fpv antenna choices

Navigator

ground fpv antenna choices

hi I'm quite new to fpv in general. i will tell you where i am at the moment and also, my choices i want to make. please feel free to comment but id like to note only ground/surface fpv only.

so far.

vehicle: traxxas summit & traxxas xmaxx

radio control: traxxas tqi 2.4ghz also i have a better radio gear once i reach distances/penatration limits on video.

display: fat shark dom v3 googles.

vtx: fat shark 1.3ghz 250mw
    antenna: I'm using a standard 1.3 ghz (omni dipole) linear 3dbi

vrx: fat shark 1.3ghz version 3 receiver module
    antenna: I'm using a standard ( omni dipole ) linear 3dbi

I also have circular polarised blubeam ultra antenna set. which i found not to be as strong a signal, not much testing done yet. my understanding is linear would be a better way to go due to liners qualities being at one altitude, and that the car is not tilting much, size of the antenna ad less interference at 1.3ghz rf.

estimated range I've found is maybe 200yards though thick bush, at this point my video gets very poor and nearly un-viewable. radio gear is nearly at its limits.

at around 700/900yards los standing on a hill, until the radio gear goes out of range. the los for the video is still very good and i haven't been able to see the full range of testing.

where i plan to ride will have many natural objects maybe even a few structures and walls. i have in mind. upgrading my antennas to increase gain before upgrading the power.

the choice i have came to would be:-

-standard 1.3ghz linear whip for the vtx on the truck.
    8dbi optimised patch antenna for the vrx on a tripod.

or

-madmushroom/standard linear whip for vtx on the truck.
    pepperbox/cross hair vas antenna for the vrx on a tripod.

thanks for reading through my thread and any advice is more than welcome.