FPVLAB

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What wing to start with?

Navigator

What wing to start with?

Ok so I am a team Jeti pilot for fixed wing 3D and IMAC (http://www.mini-iac.org/). I have been flying quads for about 3 months now and want something fixed wing FPV. I had a buddy give me a Taranis and EZUHF setup.... From what I am reading I will need 1.3GHZ for the video link, but what about the aircraft? The Crash Test stuff looks good, as well as sweep wings... but I am not sure I should start out with a big wing even though I can already fly?

If you want to start small check out the Swift II, avaliable at RMRC.

http://www.readymaderc.com/store/ind...oducts_id=4084

Though they seem to be out of stock.

Other alternatives are the TekSumo or Popwing.
    When nothing else out there will suit your needs... design and build it yourself.

Engineer for Jesus Christ IBCrazy's Avatar
    Don't worry about the size of the wing. Bigger is going to be more stable. Just remember that FPV ships are heavier.

Crash Test Hobbies makes a nice wing. I'm not a fan of SweepWings, though. Derrick has a good suggestion on a Swift II if you don't mind foam elevons and having to re-trim the plane frequently.

If you want a mid-size nimble wing, look into a TBRC Reflex or a Video Aerial Systems Anubis. There is also the Crash Test Assassin.

-Alex
    If it is broken, fix it. if it isn't broken, I'll soon fix that.

videoaerialsystems.com - Performance video piloting

Navigator

Quote Originally Posted by IBCrazy View Post
    Don't worry about the size of the wing. Bigger is going to be more stable. Just remember that FPV ships are heavier.

Crash Test Hobbies makes a nice wing. I'm not a fan of SweepWings, though. Derrick has a good suggestion on a Swift II if you don't mind foam elevons and having to re-trim the plane frequently.

If you want a mid-size nimble wing, look into a TBRC Reflex or a Video Aerial Systems Anubis. There is also the Crash Test Assassin.

-Alex