FPVLAB

image
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: PWM - PPM - SBUS - Trying to understand!

  1. #1
    Navigator RussiaBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    35

    PWM - PPM - SBUS - Trying to understand!

    So I'm waiting for my first tx/rx in the mail. I bought a cheap one from banggood for now as its my first build / tx, FS I6, with the FSIA6b rx. Now I know the rx and tx come compatible with SBUS (I think it's actually called IBus on the FS) but it seems a little more complicated to setup, UART in clean flight and all that good stuff.


    Is it worth me putting time into setting it up as SBUS? I know there are firmware updates for the FS I6 that can make it an 8 or 10 channel tx, and it would be nice to take advantage of the extra channels with Ibus anyway any input is appreciated, thanks all!

  2. #2
    Navigator Beachflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Orange Beach, AL.
    Posts
    935
    The big advantage to going Sbus or ppm is it cleans up your wiring from RX to FC and usually will allow the use of more channels depending on the RX. One servo wire from RX is all that is needed.

  3. #3
    Navigator CongoSavanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    529
    http://blog.oscarliang.net/pwm-ppm-s...md-difference/

    Can't say for sure with iBus, but SBUS generally has lower latency.
    “Birds born in a cage think flying is an illness.”
    - Alejandro Jodorowsky

    Last edited by doobie; 15th August 2016 at 10:26 PM. Reason: spelt titties wrong

  4. #4
    Navigator RussiaBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    35
    So probably best to go with the IBUS? Can anyone familiar with the wiring help me out a little? I've read about using UART's on the board (Naze32 Rev5) and I'm just looking for a little clarification. If I set it up in clean flight as IBUS using UART 2 as the serial port or w/e, I then would only need gnd and 5v and one signal wire directly to the UART pad on the board?

  5. #5
    Navigator
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    3
    I don't know what port you should be on, but your rx should be marked with subs or similar. usually from what i understand you will have your RX in a normal position, straight ahead, then your white cable from the servo wire should be up? and black down, red in middle. . But how to set it up in clean flight isn't really something I can help you with.. Trying to get my RX to work with SBUS right now but with problems..

Similar Threads

  1. Help me understand the Fresnel Zone
    By smoothvirus in forum IFR - Video Link Discussion
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 7th March 2016, 01:00 PM
  2. help understand coaxial y6 build
    By Farmernz in forum RC TECH
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 27th November 2014, 03:23 PM
  3. Help me understand no load currents…
    By flyingcat in forum RC TECH
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10th November 2014, 10:29 PM
  4. Help me understand battery tech
    By Blizzard1287 in forum RC TECH
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 19th November 2013, 05:12 PM
  5. EzOSD is broken or not? Do not understand( Need help
    By ksetdekov in forum ImmersionRC
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 6th September 2012, 05:42 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •