Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Dominator V2 White Lines from OSD

  1. #1
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    35

    Dominator V2 White Lines from OSD

    Hey everyone,

    I've been having issues trying to figure out an issue with my video feed to my goggles. I've got the Dominator V2s running the Raceband RX internally.

    What's happening is my OSD (The TBS Core Pro) displays the data in white text on my feed. It looks incredible on monitors and other FPV receiving situations, but when I run my goggles, I get white lines along the screen with the OSD text as well as a lot of flickering on the bottom of the display. I've updated the firmware on the Goggles and even tried more (extra) filtering on the video feed to try and make it better, but I have had no success in eliminating the white lines or the flickering.

    Here's a video showing what it looks like. (Sorry for the vertical filming and the crappy footage, just wanted to get something to show.)

    https://youtu.be/-fvO1JsaNE4

    Thanks for any help you can give!
    [COLOR=#00ccff][URL='http://www.upangle.com'][COLOR=#00ccff]www.upangle.com[/COLOR][/URL][/COLOR]

  2. #2
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    548
    Hmm, does it go away if you change the OSD Color to black with white outline or if you adjust the contrast/brightness of the goggles a bit?

    EDIT:
    I tried to replicate your issue on my Dominator V2 with the Vortex OSD and with the Vector by adjusting the colors, gray and white levels but I didn't get any lines.
    Last edited by vzachari; 10th December 2015 at 09:10 PM.

  3. #3
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    35
    Yeah, I just tried playing with my settings and see nothing different. The most confusing part is how clear it looks on the monitor but those lines are very apparent in the goggles. Maybe I need to try a different RX board in the Goggles? I'm on the exact same channel, using an Raceband channel 8 TX.
    [COLOR=#00ccff][URL='http://www.upangle.com'][COLOR=#00ccff]www.upangle.com[/COLOR][/URL][/COLOR]

  4. #4
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    2,134
    Maybe try to feed the video signal in from another rx (video in) ?
    That way you can see if it is the internal rx module or channel selection.

  5. #5
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    3,117
    I had similar on the new Raceband module and then realised that I had the band set incorrectly.


    I was sure that I did have the band correctly but it was not the case.
    [SIZE=2][FONT=arial narrow][COLOR=#ff0000]similis vobis fugere eam furatus[/COLOR][/FONT][COLOR=#ff0000][B]![/B][/COLOR][/SIZE]

    [LIST][*][URL="http://www.quotationspage.com/quotes/Edith_Sitwell"]Edith Sitwell[/URL] "I am patient with stupidity but not with those who are proud of it."[/LIST]

  6. #6
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    35
    I tried using a different transmitter today and had the exact same result. Checked to make 100% sure it was the same channel and they were the same from the manuals. The monitor that I used in the original test and video that I posted earlier is on the same channel as the goggles.

    I ordered another RX to see if that's the root cause because I wanted another one anyways for another pair of goggles. I follow up if the new RX is any different.
    [COLOR=#00ccff][URL='http://www.upangle.com'][COLOR=#00ccff]www.upangle.com[/COLOR][/URL][/COLOR]

  7. #7
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    206
    I get the same thing with my Vortex and would love to get rid of it.
    ~

  8. #8
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    35
    So I tested the new RX today, and got exactly the same result. Tested along side my monitor. Had crystal clear image on the monitor but had an extremely evident white line still on the OSD information. Exactly like Kevin was having above in his video.

    I also noticed, when I first plug in the quad I get a ton of scattering on the boot image from the Pro. It's much more scattered than the image after it boots, but as it's firing up, the image is all over the place.

    Anyone have any other ideas?
    [COLOR=#00ccff][URL='http://www.upangle.com'][COLOR=#00ccff]www.upangle.com[/COLOR][/URL][/COLOR]

  9. #9
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    35
    So I came to a solution in another thread I found somewhere (can't remember where, it was at work.)

    I put a 470 uf 25v Capactitor in the video line of my camera feed. I didn't exactly understand this, so I just tried putting both the negative and the positive wires coming out of the capacitor into the yellow video line. It's completely eliminated the problem and now I've got great feed coming into my goggles. Right on!
    [COLOR=#00ccff][URL='http://www.upangle.com'][COLOR=#00ccff]www.upangle.com[/COLOR][/URL][/COLOR]

  10. #10
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    206
    Quote Originally Posted by Bmonarch View Post
    So I came to a solution in another thread I found somewhere (can't remember where, it was at work.)

    I put a 470 uf 25v Capactitor in the video line of my camera feed. I didn't exactly understand this, so I just tried putting both the negative and the positive wires coming out of the capacitor into the yellow video line. It's completely eliminated the problem and now I've got great feed coming into my goggles. Right on!
    Could you elaborate on this? Do you mean you put negative to the negative, and cap positive to the yellow?

Similar Threads

  1. White lines in my googles
    By anta377 in forum OSDs & Flight Controllers
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 20th August 2015, 04:54 PM
  2. horizontal lines of white dots n naza mini osd
    By doobie in forum OSDs & Flight Controllers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th July 2015, 10:41 PM
  3. Arkbird autopilot osd horizontal white lines
    By Takatu in forum OSDs & Flight Controllers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5th July 2014, 05:06 AM
  4. White lines in video
    By freefallguy in forum Flight Camera Talk
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 15th February 2014, 10:21 PM
  5. OSD - White lines/Blur across screen - Video RX problem?
    By neo__04 in forum IFR - Video Link Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17th April 2013, 12:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •