FPVLAB

image
Page 1 of 65 1231151 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 647

Thread: The Most Amazing Invention Ever For FPV (CAT 6)

  1. #1
    I Like Waffles... SENTRY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    10,839

    The Most Amazing Invention Ever For FPV (CAT 6)

    Having gone 16+ out miles on 2.4, I decided that for the most part my personal knowledge development for 2.4gHz is "complete". I come across a few things here and there to test, but basically "I got it" when it comes to 2.4.

    One would think that there is very little difference between the frequencies but there is. My main rig can go past 20 miles easily, and my 2.4 link can as well. There (in my mind) is really no point of doing it when I know I can - that kind of makes it boring.

    So - I moved to 1.2. With no other changes to my main rig than the vTx - it took me back a few steps on the range test for my UHF system. With the DL OFF and the video system on I saw blips of 5, 10, 20% on my RSSI. 20% "signal" with the DL off was disappointing - LOL - epecially on a rig that can do 20 miles out w/out even breaking a sweat. Unplugging the vTx took RSSI down to 0% (as expected when you don't have the rc tx on). I was NOT amused. I've got some amazing $6 toroids from www.newark.com -- but I decided that since my installs have never required them, I didn't wanna go down that path (ego problem - LOL). Initial plans were to rewire the entire rig. I abandoned that thought and decided just to rewire the hop from the vTx --> OSD.

    HOLY SMOKES!!! I now get tired of walking out when I range test my DL. No matter what vTx I use, my DL rx is not affected.

    My secret? This : http://www.cablestogo.com/product.as...3523&sku=31201

    4 twisted pairs. Each pair is wrapped in it's own shield... then another shield surrounds all the pairs - then covered w/ the sheath. There are many options to wire this up.

    This is what I was using before - STD CAT6. Now... this is MUCH better than servo wire - but not "Sentry-spec". I get wild hairs to fly far - and I don't use auto-pilots, so this method was NOT ready for the big show after the move to 1.2


    This (below) is what you get with the above link: each pair is twisted, AND each pair has it's own shield. Then ALL the pairs have an additional shield as depicted below.




    I don't stop until I have the quietest (electronically) planes on the planet. And you can too. Good luck.
    Last edited by SENTRY; 2nd February 2012 at 09:00 PM.
    "I Like Waffles" : FPVLab on Facebook and FPVLab on Twitter

  2. #2
    GO HAWKS Hucker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Seattle, WA USA
    Posts
    3,046
    Are those 26awg wires big enough for your plane or do you need to double up when powering bigger servos?

  3. #3
    I Like Waffles... SENTRY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    10,839
    Quote Originally Posted by Hucker View Post
    Are those 26awg wires big enough for your plane or do you need to double up when powering bigger servos?
    I can't think of a reason to need to wire servos up with this. Eliminate the problem at the source and then your servos will be fine. So just wire the vTx with it. BUT - to answer your question, they are twisted PAIRS right? So feel free to tie a single pair together and use as one bc they will still have 2 grounds surrounding them.
    "I Like Waffles" : FPVLab on Facebook and FPVLab on Twitter

  4. #4
    Hammer and Visegrips schnellschnell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    561
    Quote Originally Posted by SENTRY View Post
    ...Eliminate the problem at the source and then your servos will be fine.
    That's funny, I read the almost exact same thing just now when reading about grounding on an audio page. The guy wrote: "The 60 Hz base signal also hums at 120 Hz, 240 Hz, and up the band. That's why filters don't do a good job removing hum... you have to fix it at the source". [my bolding]

    Interesting that all this stuff has been done before, for different reasons.

    My question - do you attach the shield TO a ground wire, or IS the shield the ground wire and is it then connected to all devices using the internal conductors?

    j

  5. #5
    I Like Waffles... SENTRY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    10,839
    Quote Originally Posted by schnellschnell View Post
    My question - do you attach the shield TO a ground wire, or IS the shield the ground wire and is it then connected to all devices using the internal conductors?

    j
    This is where you come in - and why i said that there are many was to wire this up.

    a) each wire is in a pair. Since it's twisted, you could use the 2nd wire in each pair as a ground - tie those together and that to a ground (on 1 end only) or to the shield.

    b) only ground the outer shield (at one end)

    Possibilities are endless really. And for weight savings you can totally rip out a pair and it's shield to save weight.
    "I Like Waffles" : FPVLab on Facebook and FPVLab on Twitter

  6. #6
    Banana Drone Flying Monkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Snoqualmie, WA
    Posts
    5,110
    Hey Sentry, I think you just answered the question I posed this morning!!!

    http://fpvlab.com/forums/showthread....G-interference!-!

    Or should I just use usb cable?

    ~Flying Monkey

  7. #7
    Who I am^^ Stuff I Say>> Reverand Blue Chip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Orlando Flori-Duh
    Posts
    1,366
    You just using this between the cam and OSD --> OSD to VTX?

    Or are you using this for power to the OSD / CAM as well?

  8. #8
    I Like Waffles... SENTRY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    10,839
    Quote Originally Posted by Flying Monkey View Post
    Hey Sentry, I think you just answered the question I posed this morning!!!

    http://fpvlab.com/forums/showthread....G-interference!-!

    Or should I just use usb cable?

    ~Flying Monkey
    This kicks USB cable's ass.

    Quote Originally Posted by Blue Chip View Post
    You just using this between the cam and OSD --> OSD to VTX?

    Or are you using this for power to the OSD / CAM as well?
    vTx to OSD.
    "I Like Waffles" : FPVLab on Facebook and FPVLab on Twitter

  9. #9
    are the copper cores solid or multi-strand?

  10. #10
    I Like Waffles... SENTRY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    10,839
    ^^ Multi.

    * new pic added :
    "I Like Waffles" : FPVLab on Facebook and FPVLab on Twitter

Page 1 of 65 1231151 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10th December 2011, 02:17 AM
  2. HELP : Fielding A New Invention/Idea
    By GreenAce92 in forum OFF-TOPIC
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 2nd December 2011, 07:33 PM
  3. Wooooow technology is amazing...
    By airbagit13 in forum OFF-TOPIC
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 27th October 2011, 11:03 AM
  4. Amazing and really nice to look at.
    By kajakmannen in forum OFF-TOPIC
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7th April 2011, 12:23 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •