Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Angled Motor Mounts For "Flat" Arms?

Angled Motor Mounts For "Flat" Arms?

Round arms are cool for sure but actually attaching motors to them requires some "tuning"...

Why not wedge shaped motor mounts? 5 to 10 degree slope. I'm sure someone is making them?

Pros: FPV cam has a better view of the horizon in FFF, possibly an aerodynamic gain/speed?

Cons: Slight increase in weight? Maybe not as strong as direct bolt to arm?

Also, in the quest for speed...who is testing narrower frames (less profile drag in fff)? Fuselages?

TBS Gemini is one that has " all of the above"

Maybe the difference is negligible at best? I'm not an aeronautical engineer by any stretch of the imagination.

I've seen some on one of the 3d printing repositories, I've also seen mention of this sort of "kit" being available with the upcoming version of the sparky that is shipping Monday iirc. I haven't seen any in use, but I am also interested to see how they work.

Im a N00b so what?!
    I dunno, My simple pea brain doesn't see the advantage... Motors are tilted at say 10 degrees... the fc board references the quad flat, 0 degrees, camera is also 0 degrees(assuming fixed). Now when you pitch forward 10 degrees, your camera is pointed down 10 degrees, the quad itself is now 10 degrees forward and your motors are 20 degrees forward HOWEVER your flight controller is still basing its input from holding your quad at 0 degrees...

I understand that essentially your max rpm window is delayed, therefore lengthened with the tilted motors but how much it actually helps.... not sure. The gemini isn't the first fast mini out there. Hell there are 0 degree motor minis that would murder the gemini with 4 props!

Or am I missing something...

Isone...that's basically what I'm wondering...if it really makes a difference in top speed.