Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Beginner pilot needs help selecting FPV frequency

Beginner pilot needs help selecting FPV frequency

I am a beginner in the FPV world. I'm having trouble understanding and choosing a frequency. Can anyone suggest a website or provide some direction on how to navigate through this? Any help is appreciated.

Choosing a frequency will more or less be determined by what kind of aircraft you want to use and what sort of flying you intend on doing...

However you have already found the best website for information on FPV and FPV systems.

There are plenty of tutorials and the like on here (FPVLab) it is just a matter of reading through them

Here check this out for starters ---> http://fpvlab.com/forums/showthread.php?116-FPV-PILOT-TRAINING-CENTER-YOUR-ROAD-TO-FPV-SUCCESS

As a starter I always suggest using a standard 2.4ghz radio with a good frequency hopping system (FrSky is my fav)
    and 5.8ghz for the video.

Reasons?
    5.8ghz doesn't interfer with stuff on board the aircraft as much.
    This is the least expensive option
    Getting a clean video signal requires more or less LOS which means that you won't be flying out of your range of control or experience
    it's just easy to set up and it gets you in the air really quickly.

What are you flying, do you have any FPV gear yet, & what's your budget?
    Volantex Raptor v1
    Blade Nano qx FPV
    Hoverthings VC-450 camo frame with DJI NAZA M v1 (no GPS)

RMRC-600xv flight camera & Mobius HD recording camera on tilt gimbal & RMRC 1.3GHz 300mW vtx
    RMRC vrx with upgraded SAW filter, 1.3GHz optimized 8dBi patch antenna, Lumenier DX600 dvr, & Skyzone goggles
    Turnigy 9xr radio connected to Saitek x52 joystick & throttle set with EZuhf & 8 channel diversity reciever, or DX7s/DX5e

Navigator
    Quote Originally Posted by Carbon View Post
    As a starter I always suggest using a standard 2.4ghz radio with a good frequency hopping system (FrSky is my fav)