FPVLAB

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Money is no object: The ultimate build

Money is no object: The ultimate build

Howdy All, I'm new to FPV but familiar with complex projects, and to my wife's dismay, expensive hobbies One of the best questions that I've learned to ask when stating a new project (whether it's for work or play) is:

If money were no object, how would you accomplish your goal?

In this scenario, the goal is a complete FPV setup, including airframe, cameras, video Tx/Rx, GS...the whole kit.

Many times the goal can be achieved within 95% of target using a small/moderate amount of money and effort. It might take a boatload more to reach the final 5% though. Of course goals are different for everyone, but this exercise is geared towards "typical" FPV adventures: Moderate distance, Maximum reliability and Maximum safety.

Being new to this, I know to start small and add on as I go. However, knowing an end-goal can be really efective at keeping overall costs down. For example, buying a good camera the first time instead of buying 3 lousy ones THEN the good one.

I'd really appreciate your input on the following, "If money was no object", AKA do it right the first time:

• Airframe
    • Camera(s)
    • Batteries
    • Transmitters (both flight control and video)
    • Receivers (both flight control and video)
    • OSD
    • Antennas
    • Ground Station Equipment
    • Goggles/Video display
    • And anything else I'm forgetting

This is my way of trying to learn from other's mistakes and experiences, even though it rarely seems to work for me

The best thing to do is start simple with a cheap plane. Read this thread.

maximum safety and reliability come not only from components but from build experience and flying experience.

you could have a perfect plane with fancy bits and peices all over it but in the hands of a novice it would be a complete waste.