Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: RMRC DVR firmware upgrade possible?

  1. #1
    Navigator PeeBee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Africa (where the gorillas are from)
    Posts
    266

    RMRC DVR firmware upgrade possible?

    Is there a way to upgrade the firmware to the latest version? I have version B257.12.11.03, and it has freezing up on me frequently (more than 5 times the last time I went flying), and I have to press the reset button.

  2. #2
    We should be able to help out. We don't have the firmware available for download & would need to get the unit back to update it for you. If you'll go to www.readymaderc.com/support & open a ticket, we can make arrangements to get you set up.

  3. #3
    Navigator PeeBee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Africa (where the gorillas are from)
    Posts
    266
    Thanks! A bit of a catch that I am in Africa, so the shipping is not that cheap, and also it means I would have to be without my DVR for two to four weeks (unless I go for a REALLY expensive shipping option).

    Is there no way I can have a file to flash myself? Pretty please?

    Like we do for MinimOSD, APM, Multiwii, Skylark, Mobius, Taranis tx, FrSky rx's, EzUHF rx/tx, the Japan DVR, etc etc etc etc... Spot a pattern there?

  4. #4
    Navigator PeeBee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Africa (where the gorillas are from)
    Posts
    266
    Ok, have sorted it out, I think. I have obtained a copy of the Japan-FPV firmware and installed that. Faster boot up time, no RMRC logo () and hopefully no more freeze ups.

    For suggestions on how to 'obtain' this file feel free to PM me.

  5. #5
    I'm glad you were able to get the update. With the firmware being proprietary, we're not able to send it out to customers. Let us know if you continue to have problems going forward.

  6. #6
    I just found out that the FPV Japan firmware actually degrades the video quality (over-softens the image to reduce the strain on the video encoding). *We can get you a better picture if we swap out the firmware with ours or if we swap out the entire unit if it already had the correct firmware to begin with. I know shipping & downtime can be a hassle, but we'd like to make sure you're getting the most out of our product.

  7. #7
    Navigator PeeBee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Africa (where the gorillas are from)
    Posts
    266
    Thanks Joel. Interesting! Maximus has lots of experience using the Japan DVR - I wonder if he can say how significant this quality difference is?
    Last edited by PeeBee; 18th September 2014 at 05:03 AM.

  8. #8
    Bazinga! Maximus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    2,931
    I didn't notice a drop in quality with the fixed firmware. Here's some sample footage:




  9. #9
    Navigator PeeBee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Africa (where the gorillas are from)
    Posts
    266
    If you cannot get hold of me, the following users also have a copy of the firmware:

    SubIT
    Tim
    zaraja
    Fint

Similar Threads

  1. EzUHF Tx firmware upgrade
    By skquad in forum ImmersionRC
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 18th June 2014, 05:39 PM
  2. FY-31 Firmware upgrade
    By Scotttu in forum OSDs & Flight Controllers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1st February 2014, 03:09 PM
  3. Tiny OSD III went bad after firmware upgrade
    By Dali in forum SkylarkFPV
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 14th July 2013, 02:43 AM
  4. do I HAVE to upgrade firmware ?
    By SkinWalk3r in forum ImmersionRC
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2nd July 2013, 10:44 PM
  5. Issues with Firmware upgrade....
    By Dixter in forum ImmersionRC
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 18th March 2013, 03:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •