FPVLAB

Page 1 of 63 1231151 ... LastLast

Thread: FPV Peace Drone, collapsible canard platform

FPV Peace Drone, collapsible canard platform

Here are some details on an FPV platform I've been working on for a few months that I believe is now to the point of being worth sharing.

It is a 1300g AUW, single pusher motor, canard planform aircraft that collapses into a package about 8x8x32" for transport. It's made almost entirely of Readi-Board (aka Dollar Tree foamboard) and takes a 250 watt range motor, two servos in elevon configuration, and carries FPV gear in a removal nose pod that is well separated from the flight electronics.

I have carried a CCD board camera and a GoPro and tested up to 600g of payload. It is very roomy inside (6 liters of internal volume) and could accommodate Arduinos, OSD, still camera, telemetry, etc. The payload space is one long contiguous area that allows shifting of items fore and aft to balance the aircraft. The flight batteries are by default directly at the CG.

Since every single cut is straight 90 degrees, and very few of them, I don't intend to make actual paper plans but I have made an extensive video series on the airfoil and fuselage tube construction on my YouTube channel. 5 sheets of foamboard, packing tape, hot glue, a few plastic gift cards, carbon arrow shafts, some 4mm carbon fiber or dowels, and the standard suite of electronics is all that is needed.

Please let me know if you have any questions, improvements, comments. Note that I'm relatively new to FPV so my flight footage is limited at the moment. My videos will typically focus on airframes and construction.

Be well,
    Ed
    "ExAir"

Canard CG calculator, very trustworthy, but as with every aircraft err on the nose-heavy side to start.

http://adamone.rchomepage.com/cg_canard.htm

ADDENDUM:
    Some of the considerations and idiosyncracies that have come up as other builders have begun testing this aircraft design: