FPVLAB

Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Researching a 100Km video link

Forum Member

(Researching a) 100Km video link: DONE

Since Roberto Montiel showed us his new Fascination I started playing with an idea.

Given that:
    - In the 63Km record he did not use the motor.
    - With the solar panels that he has installed, in the summer he should be able to cover the consumption of the electronics on board, which means that he would have a virtually unlimited flight time (depending on the sun, of course).
    - Using Yagis in the UHF transmitter the RC link can easily exceed 100 km. (Sander is looking after this part).
    - The video of his record shows that from the 40Km every time the plane banked to turn a thermal there were losses, and at 63Km and video quality was just inexistent.
    I concluded that the only thing limiting him to beat his own record was the video link, and I decided to contact him to offer my help.

The configuration he used for the record with the Grafas was:
    - Video Transmitter 1.3GHz, 1500mW.
    - Standard dipole antenna in the video transmitter.
    - 1.3GHz Video Receiver LawMate.
    - 14dB Yagi antenna in the video receiver.
    Hence the possible areas for improvement were:
    - Reduce power to 800mW to reduce consumption on board. The 2.5dB lost are easily retrievable.
    - Switch to circular polarization, to avoid losses by banking the plane when it approaches the range limit.
    - Improve video receiver sensitivity by changing the SAW filter by a lower bandwidth one.
    - Build a circular polarized antenna for the receiver with the maximum gain, within practical limits (the size of the trunk of my car ...).
    With this starting point we fixed a meeting in Madrid, to introduce each other, see in detail his setup and exchange impressions. It was a very pleasant meeting. As Roberto said when he shake my hand: "What a pair of fools!"