ReadyMadeRC!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: $10 Open Source EzUHF PPM/PWM to Analog RSSI Converter solution inside!

Forum Member

$10 Open Source EzUHF PPM/PWM to Analog RSSI Converter solution inside!

Trying to find an analog RSSI converter for EzUHF to run MinimOSD with my new EzUHF system yielded few options. I tried a simple RC filter and was unable to get the appropriate voltage change including several capacitors and resistors without success.

I had been trying to figure out how to do this myself with Arduino, despite asking for some help on the Arduino forums and getting a few responses I was unable to figure it out after a few weeks of messing with it. (I'm no programmer)

Came across a video on youtube of a guy doing just that and sent him an email asking if he would be willing to share his Sketch. I was stoked to find it in my inbox a couple days later!

With Arduino, you can tweak things with respect to the range of PPM signal received. If you are more adventurous, you could add other functionality as well since there are several board options available. I went for the smallest I could find, and its freaking ‘tiny’ and there are still several I/O ports on it that are not used.

A neat feature built into Vincent’s sketch allows one to use the Arduino serial monitor to see the PPM values real time for bench testing.

Watch his video here to see it work:

This is the board I used: http://tiny-circuits.com/products/tinylily/ Wasn’t sure if I needed to regulate the power for this board as it states it doesn’t have an on board reg and is limited to 5.5v. I decided to build a simple voltage divider to bring the 5.6-5.7v coming out of my Crius AIO Pro clone board down to 3.9v. I did this with a 100ohm and 220ohm resistor. The PPM signal was connected to digital lead 2, and the analog out digital lead 3.