Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 2.4ghz video tx : bad reception?

Navigator

2.4ghz video tx : bad reception?

Hey all, I upgraded to the LAWMATE tuned tbs 2.4ghz transmitter for my video, however the connection doesnt seem to be any better then my 5.8ghz was, this is really frustrating because I spent $500 on upgrading to this system..

I am in downtown L.A. so i'm guessing all the wifi is giving me issues, but I was hoping to get at least double the range of my 5.8ghz.

hopefully i'm just doing something wrong..

I am running the standard rubber duckie antennea on my vtx (should I get a cloverleaf?) i'm using a yagi on my video transmitter.

and I have put my video receiver, and my radio transmitter in a satchel together in a bag i'm wearing on my side.

can you guys give me some suggestions?
    should I switch to 1.3ghz or something else?

thanks all.
    Last edited by nsolcis; 25th March 2014 at 03:47 PM.

Navigator
    I am fairly new to FPV but not to modeling at all. Been flying a LONG time. I would recommend getting or borrowing from a friend if you know someone who has one a RF explorer or RF analyzer type of device. Being in town I bet you would be shocked to see how "dirty" the RF environment is.

I bet wifi isn't it but it could be wifi repeaters too. 2.4 gives great video but there is not such thing as plug and play with no possibility of getting it wrong.

First off find out what is out there or this thread is 100% guessing. If you were out in the country we could reasonably assume several things but in town and major town like that and downtown of all things I imagine you have massive interference.

A RF Explorer is almost a necessity to fly in new dirty RF environments and KNOW what you are dealing with. You can't mitigate what you do not know about.

With a RF explorer you can see what channels are strong and what ones aren't and what to set your channel to and etc.