FPVLAB

Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How hard to fly a fixed wing?

Navigator

How hard to fly a fixed wing?

Ok, total newbie dumb question.

I came to multi rotors, from a film making perspective. I enjoy making aerial films. Since building my first hex, I've started eyeballing the fixed wings, and enjoying the different perspective of flying and filming with one, they can achieve.

I've recently gotten a TBS quad, with the long range equipment.

It's gotten me thinking since I already have the ezuhf transmitter, and 2.4ghz video ground station, why not look into building a fixed wing and learn to fly that.

So my question is, how difficult is it to learn to fly a fixed wing?

I flew my hex LOS for the first year, before adding fpv gear. But it seems to me, a fixed wing would be easier to fly fpv? Or am I a dumbass for thinking that way?

How difficult is it to learn to control? I figured out the multirotor controls pretty easy (from reading, prior to building one). But as of typing this, I'm not 100% on what stick would do what, on my Taranis.

Any guidance? Any recommendation on a craft to start with?

Thank you,
    Jeff

Pilot
    Get a cheap foamy made out of EPP and have at it. Should not take you too long.
    Flying through the cash.

Navigator
    I find fixed wings MUCH harder to fly than multirotors, and I'm a former pilot. Hell, with multirotors you can throw a switch, park that sucker in one spot in the sky, and have lunch. Not so with fixed wings. Look away for a second and they'll be headed for the ground (mine, anyway). Much bigger learning curve for fixed wing. As a reformed pilot I do find FPV much easier to fly than LOS since there's no control reversal.