image
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 41

Thread: Feiyu Tech G3 gimball installed on my QAV400

  1. #1
    Do NOT disturb the pilot saucisse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Quebec City, Canada
    Posts
    1,201

    Feiyu Tech G3 gimball installed on my QAV400

    Didn't want to pollute the qav400 thread so I'll post here.

    Here's how I've installed my G3 on my QAV400. Takes 2 sec to remove the gimball from the qav400, no need to mess with screws, simply unplug the power from gimball, pull the tubes out and voilà!

    Cannot wait to try it...won't be today since it is -16 Celsius with wind factor here today

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1820.jpg 
Views:	1680 
Size:	339.3 KB 
ID:	36452Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1821.jpg 
Views:	1225 
Size:	311.7 KB 
ID:	36453Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1822.jpg 
Views:	602 
Size:	318.9 KB 
ID:	36454

    Last edited by saucisse; 24th December 2013 at 05:22 PM.
    Long range FPV is so 2009

  2. #2
    Navigator Bakchos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Blainville, Canada
    Posts
    476
    Good idea !

    Bonne idée !!!

    might try it on my ADS400Q
    ZebroWings .com
    2Vision-Air .com

  3. #3
    Navigator imagebuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Tomball TX - Just NW of Houston, TX
    Posts
    562
    Wonderful idea. Where can I pick up those tubes and grommets? How much do the tubes and grommets weigh?

    Chris

  4. #4
    Do NOT disturb the pilot saucisse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Quebec City, Canada
    Posts
    1,201
    You can get these here:

    http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...12mm_1pc_.html

    or here...not sure if they fit or not, I've use left overs from an old xaircraft frame landing gear that looks quite like this:

    http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...et_Black_.html

    AS for the weight, maybe 15-20 total??? this won't show on your quad lol
    Last edited by saucisse; 7th December 2013 at 01:58 PM.
    Long range FPV is so 2009

  5. #5
    Navigator
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Burbank, CA
    Posts
    128
    Quote Originally Posted by saucisse View Post
    Didn't want to pollute the qav400 thread so I'll post here.

    Here's how I've installed my G3 on my QAV400. Takes 2 sec to remove the gimball from the qav400, no need to mess with screws, simply unplug the power from gimball, pull the tubes out and voilà!

    Cannot wait to try it...won't be today since it is -16 Celsius with wind factor here today

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1820.jpg 
Views:	1680 
Size:	339.3 KB 
ID:	36452Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1821.jpg 
Views:	1225 
Size:	311.7 KB 
ID:	36453Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1822.jpg 
Views:	602 
Size:	318.9 KB 
ID:	36454

    Saucisse....your gimbal installation method really caught my attention...I have purchased the same gimbal and copy your DYI.
    what size drill bit do I need to screw in the grommet ring to the frame.

  6. #6
    Do NOT disturb the pilot saucisse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Quebec City, Canada
    Posts
    1,201
    Good question...simply take the screw that is used to hold them in place and compare with drill bits you have... just be sure to put some thread lock on the screws since you are using only 1 screw per ring... the frame isn't wide enough to be able to use both.

    Did the maiden flight of the gimball indoor at my work...works like a charm! Not sure I can put it online though since I flew in the warehouse... Then I went outside and the too soft grey rubber dampeners are showing... getting minor vibrations but no jellow. The kk2 board didn't like the freezing cold we have here and after 2 minutes flight it flipped on me. No dammage other the replacing the bobbins on the qav400.
    Long range FPV is so 2009

  7. #7
    Navigator
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Burbank, CA
    Posts
    128
    Is one screw secure enough? Oh well I guess I will just have to make it work.

  8. #8
    Instructor Pilot
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    5,446
    nice man… My G3 just arrived today and I'll be fitting it to my XuGong - looks like a great gimbal and you can't sniff at the cost either.

  9. #9
    Navigator
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Burbank, CA
    Posts
    128
    please let us know how the gimbal performs and picture is always nice!!!

  10. #10
    Navigator
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Burbank, CA
    Posts
    128
    are you guys using 3S or 4S to power the gimbal?

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Feiyu tech FY-41AP
    By Wearyman in forum OSDs & Flight Controllers
    Replies: 113
    Last Post: 29th December 2016, 09:21 AM
  2. Feiyu Products
    By blueprint in forum ReadyMadeRC
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th December 2012, 01:45 AM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10th February 2012, 08:21 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •