FPVLAB

image
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: GPS Troubleshooting

  1. #1
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,661

    GPS Troubleshooting

    Someone put gremlins in my Zeph.
    Here is the latest.
    My ls20031 GPS that I got from dragonlabs about 9months ago recently started acting strange.
    The last couple of times out GPS lock seemed to take a long time compared to ususal. Lets say 2-3 minutes instead of less than a minute, which has been my normal lock time.

    Today I went to go do some LP flying. GPS will not lock at all. I drank a cup of coffee waiting and still had 0 satellites?

    1. It does power on, when powered up I get 1long blink of light.(indicating power) then nothing
    2. My ground station says it is receiving GPS info but there is no GPS lock. (2 different indicator lights. I use MFD AAT)


    I just figured I would try to troubleshoot before I file it with all of my other broken parts. LOL

  2. #2
    I Like Waffles... SENTRY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    10,867
    What transmitters do you have turned on when you are waiting for lock? With my OSD - I power on the entire plane - then I do a manual reset of the OSD and it grabs/locks in < 10 secs.
    "I Like Waffles" : FPVLab on Facebook and FPVLab on Twitter

  3. #3
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,661
    This exact GPS has been in use in my zeph without being moved for a looooong time.
    I do not power up my DL until last when setting up. (I can't hit throttle by accident then)
    VTX is powered on.
    Until this week I have never had an issue. . . I used to have lock before goggles, ground recorder recording and transmitter were turned on.
    Today 15min no lock at all 0 satellites supa clear skies?

  4. #4
    I Like Waffles... SENTRY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    10,867
    Unplug your vTx (after checking all cables) and see if that helps. First I'd do a once-over on the cable connections.
    "I Like Waffles" : FPVLab on Facebook and FPVLab on Twitter

  5. #5
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,661
    I'm just gonna swap in one of my spares. Then I'll see what happens, im waitin for the solderin iron to get hot right now. I will let you know if that solves it.
    Good thing I got 2 extra GPS from TIM last week. Thanks Tim!!

    If it still gives me problems I will then start chasing my butt.

  6. #6
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    77
    Has the gps got a little backup battery on it?

  7. #7
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,661
    Yes, I was thinking that might be it but I swapped in a spare and it is acting the same. Time to chase my butt a bit and do some system troubleshooting.
    I got 2 areas to look at. 1. the MFDAAT harness (i had a wire break there before) after that I will try unpluging my VTX.
    Strange how well it used to work. . . all I did was put a new cam on her?

  8. #8
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,661
    Sorry guys, It was a faulty connection in this plug:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Photo on 2011-10-07 at 13.40.jpg 
Views:	95 
Size:	56.1 KB 
ID:	3450

    But damn It ain't so easy to see INSIDE of the plug. . . and all systems were telling me that GPS "should" be working.
    Anywho I got it worked out. Now all plugs on my airframe are either removed and soldered or fortified with plumbers goop.
    GPS lock under 30 sec. I'm goin flyin!!

    Thanks for all the tips.

  9. #9
    I Like Waffles... SENTRY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    10,867
    10 miles or bust -- but I'd prefer you go 9.99999999999 (LOL)
    "I Like Waffles" : FPVLab on Facebook and FPVLab on Twitter

  10. #10
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,661
    Where is the GPS question of the day. . . . I got another LS20031 that had this happen. . . . a wire broke on the pad connecting to the gps (no biggie)
    I soldered it back on yesterday and took a flight, all was good.
    Today I changed the way my cam is powered per Sanders suggestion and now when I power up this GPS I get a SOLID on led indicator (it stays on) immediately after powering it up ?? what does that mean?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. PSU troubleshooting
    By Pooch in forum Team-Black Sheep
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 14th January 2012, 08:59 PM
  2. Need help troubleshooting video problems
    By Greg in forum IFR - Video Link Discussion
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 2nd January 2012, 05:53 PM
  3. Need help troubleshooting video problems
    By Greg in forum RC TECH
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th December 2011, 03:19 PM
  4. Troubleshooting Shakes and Wags...
    By NDw in forum RC TECH
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 21st September 2011, 06:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •