Page 1 of 12 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Thread: Opportunities for FPVers to volunteer with land trusts?

Opportunities for FPVers to volunteer with land trusts?

Hi Friends,

I'm an ecologist working in New England. I've been an RC pilot for 10 years (fixed wing and rotary) and a ham radio op (DC to microwave) for 20 years and have just started working with multirotors with camera mounts.

I've been working in the land trust business for over 20 years, and one of my roles is to conduct inspections of land trust properties and conservation easements. Now that I've got some multirotor time under my belt, I'm just starting to use the ship for property/easement inspections and photodocumentation of the same. This is an outstanding application for FPV/aerial platform flying.

Most land trusts in the US are required to conduct annual inspections of their properties and the conservation easements that they hold under IRS regulations and by a national accrediting body. This is challenging for a number of reasons including a lack of staff capacity (this is a non-profit business), lack of volunteers, and in many cases, the size of the land catalogs, among other factors.

I'm just starting to collect information on the use of this technology for land trust property inspections with the ultimate intention of writing journal articles and presenting workshops on the application (not on how to fly). Land trusts can also use the video and stills for PR work, too.