FPVLAB

Page 1 of 76 1231151 ... LastLast

Thread: So what if you're confronted by an angry bystander?

So what if you're confronted by an angry bystander?

First off this has never happened to me. I have been flying RC for more than two years now and while flying have never been confronted by anyone.

I have had people come up to me but the comments have always been positive, mostly "wow that's really cool" or "where I can get one" type stuff. One time I was flying across the street from a retirement community and two of the old guys came across the street to let me know how much they enjoyed watching me fly. I thought that was nice.

But, all of that was before I ever flew FPV, before I ever flew multirotors, and before all the negative stuff in the press about "drones", usually presented with pictures of multirotors.

So have you ever been confronted by someone in public and how did you handle it?

stuff like "HEY YOU CAN'T FLY THAT EVIL DRONE HERE!!"

Best I figure is that the best thing to do is apologize, land, pack my stuff up and get out of there. It is technically illegal to fly on county property here and I fly out of parks a lot. The thing is the cops don't care if you're not making a nuisance out of yourself. I've had the cops watch me fly and when flying with a group had them come up and we buddy boxed them so they could fly too.

But I know it's coming. One of these days it's going to happen.

Hasn't happened to me but i think about that.

I for one don't want to be under the goggles when someone pulls the plug or whatnot.
    I prefer to fly alone away from people but luckily when I'm with WildWill or BackLashRC - one of us is spotting.

Comments have been 100% positive as well, even up at Ft Worden - tons of people.
    "Truly superior pilots are those who use their superior judgment to avoid those situations where they might have to use their superior skills"- Author unknown

KF7TRX