Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: The Beginner's Guide to FPV - its here!

The Beginner's Guide to FPV - its here!

October 2017 UPDATE

Fourth edition just released! This is the biggest update to the Guide to-date, bringing in new topics such as how to achieve extremely long range, FPV racing, HD digital video transmission and more!
    I've also done a full update of the look and feel, with new images, refreshed layout and updated text.
    Hope you like!

Check it out at http://guidetofpv.com

Or, direct link to:
    Kindle: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B076CH58Q9
    Print (full color interior): https://www.amazon.com/beginners-gui.../dp/1329823907
    Print (b&w interior): http://www.amazon.com/beginners-guid.../dp/1329824075

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	for forums.jpg 
Views:	21 
Size:	71.0 KB 
ID:	77638

Hi everyone...

About three years ago I was totally captivated and addicted by our hobby and, like all of us, went through the steep learning curve of complete noob to someone who can competently build and fly FPV at decent ranges with safety. I'm still an amateur compared to many in our community but I do think I've got a lot to offer to people who're just starting the hobby.

So, last year my dad decided to join the hobby (side note: isn't it great when anyone from school children to retirees can enjoy FPV!). That's when I realised something that's really missing - a beginner's guide to FPV. Clearly there are a number of really good training manuals, FAQs and how to videos but I was thinking of a concise book written especially for beginners that someone can read on the way to work (or similar) and get a solid foundation in FPV to enable them to then understand the wealth of information that's out there and be successful in those first few critical flights (and avoid the common "I'm fed up with this - selling $2000 of brand new equipment").