VideoAerialSystems

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Red-Headed Step Child that is 900mhz

Forum Member

Red-Headed Step Child that is 900mhz

Hey Guys,

What happened to 900mhz?

I'm in my third year of flying FPV with 3 rigs that get used pretty much every weekend in the early mornings (weather and little league schedules permitting). Everything I have is setup for 900mhz. I have cloverleafs on all my planes (and a quad), have a big 900mhz canon...errrr helical on ground station with tracking and an SPW on diversity on the same tracker (more as a failsafe while I'm flying in close).

Though I have a ton of time with this setup, nothing is perfect and I'm always looking to improve.

However, all the innovative antennas appear to be on every frequency but 900mhz. Mad Mushroom, Sky Hammer (great name by the way, Alex), Pepperbox, etc. 900mhz has been pretty good to me and the switch from Alex's Vee to one of the first Cloverleafs was nothing short of magical back in the day. The antennas at 900mhz are bigger and relatively easy to assemble (though more difficult to mount on smaller planes). Penetration seems to be nothing short of fantastic when flying low and behind trees and such. And not least of all, it's going to be some bucks and major aggravation to switch everything to a new frequency.

Is there something I'm missing about 900mhz? Is there some reason why new antennas at that frequency aren't being produced?

In short, do I need to bite the bullet and switch frequencies before my equipment goes the way of the dinosaurs?

- Bill

Forum Member
    I'm running linear 900 on my quad... I think the big issue for most people is antenna size. The CP antennas are prohibitively large, to the point where I don't think it would fit on my quad. On a plane its less of a problem, obviously.

I actually really like the frequency though, particularly the large fresnel zone and the fact it doesn't lie in a UHF harmonic (unlike 1.3).