www.immersionrc.com

Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: 12/16 Channels EzUHF: Finally!!!

12/16 Channels EzUHF: Finally!!!

Since I started in FPV I realized that 8 channels could be a bit short.

Just using head tracking, and having to control some OSD functions means at least 3 channels. Add two channels for ailerons, rudder, elevator and throttle and you’re done: no more channels for flaps, landing gear or whatever.

As I have a plane in the pipeline that will need much more than 8 channels, when I saw Zeeflyboy’s needs for his night-ops heli (http://fpvlab.com/forums/showthread....-build-project ) I decided it was time to start working on this, and try to get as much channels as possible from the EzUHF.

Yes, I know the easy answer: there are some other LRS out there who can handle up to 12 channels. But… I really like the EzUHF, and in any case 12 channels wasn’t enough: Zee and I were looking for 16 channels.

First I started playing with the 3 devices I found capable of multiplexing channels:

DEXPLEX233

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1383739

Developed by acristobal, a member of the Spanish Forum, basically it assigns to 18 different PWM widths a different combination, being able to transmit 3 channels (one on-off, and two 3-positions) over a single channel. A demultiplexer is needed in the Rx end, and you can generate the PWM-18 levels signal through mixes in your transmitter, or through a resistor network.

PPM-MAX

http://braintech.tripod.com/ppm-max.html

Again, a development of a member of the Spanish Forum (waverider).

Basically he uses two proportional channels to encode 8 channels:
    - 4 x on/off
    - 2 x 3 position
    - 2 x proportional (with slightly less resolution than the original ones, but valid for pan&tilt for example)

CHANNEL WIZARD

http://kiwiembedded.com/channel-wizard/

Developed by FpvKiwi, this amazing device can do everything you want with PPM frames, including multiplexing/demultiplexing channels.