PDA

View Full Version : Help? FPV 450 w/Naza GPS



superdr34
19th August 2012, 12:09 PM
I'm fairly new to the hobby of quads and fpv. Looking for some help after I installed Naza gps and can't get the set up to work. Using a Spectrum DX8 with the AR8000 receiver. Naza MC. Anybody out there knowledgeable enough to answer some questions over the phone, maybe walk me thru my setup and figure out what I got wrong? If so could you send me a pm with a phone number and I would try and call you. Located in MN. Thanks

Mechnan
19th August 2012, 03:41 PM
well if you could take some pictures that would help.
make sure you follow the instructions of dji correctly.
also could you describe what isn't working? were you able to connect the naza to your computer?
is your spectrum RX bound to the TX correctly (is the green light on on rx)? if not check manual of spectrum to see how to bind.
if you made all this work, be sure to control if you plugged the motors in the right ports on the naza.

we just ned more informations to help you.

cheers

superdr34
19th August 2012, 04:48 PM
I have a solid green light on the VU when I plug in the usb. When I open up Naza tx cali. menu I have my aux 2 three position switch controlling if I'm in GPS, Attitude, or Manual mode. Where it saids Sticks Monitor under x1 the Flap Gyro three position switch on dx8 switch moves the slider to three different positions. I'm thinking this is where there is a problem. I cannot get the quad to arm. Everything worked until I tried to add the GPS. Now I cannot get the motors to arm or spin. Before I got the GPS I had the attitude and manual mode on the gear switch on the dx8, then I switched that wire on the receiver to the aux 2 gov switch on the dx8. Aux 3 on the dx8 is used for the tilt on the camera. I set the numbers in the gps mounting where they should be in centimeters like it shows. Which is the best way to set up the switches on the dx8, I seen where guys were using the mixing to engage the fail-safe mode. The DX8 I am new to also. So I'm slowly trying to figure it out also. Start throwing your ideas at me and I'll see if I can get it working. Thanks very much.

Mechnan
19th August 2012, 05:05 PM
so you where able to fly without the gps?
you need a 3 position switch if you are using the gps.

superdr34
19th August 2012, 06:06 PM
No. I haven't been able to get it to work since I added the Naza gps.

Mechnan
19th August 2012, 06:22 PM
Do you have a 3 pos switch on your tx?

superdr34
19th August 2012, 07:05 PM
Do you have a 3 pos switch on your tx?

Yes. I'm using that switch to toggle between manual, attitude and gps mode. The problem I seem to have right now is I use to activate power to the motors by pushing both levers on the dx8 down and in. I could then take off. I now cannot get that feature to work or any of the other options for activating the naza controller.

Right now the lead coming from the naza controller out of the "x1" port is going to my aux 1 which is a two position switch. Is this right?

Mechnan
20th August 2012, 12:53 AM
Set all your trims to neutral and try al four combinations. Sometimes the naza cant be armed, because the trims prevent the channel from going in to the end position.

Mechnan
20th August 2012, 12:56 AM
Right now the lead coming from the naza controller out of the "x1" port is going to my aux 1 which is a two position switch. Is this right?

If you want to use it for controlling flight mode, you hafe to plug a 3 way switch in to the "U" channel on the naza.

superdr34
20th August 2012, 10:52 PM
Thanks for the help. I think I got the main issue figured out. I had the gear switch on the radio for manual/attitude mode, which was reduced down to 85% travel. This was before I added the gps. I reset this to 100% and now the motors arm.

Thanks for all the help.

Mechnan
21st August 2012, 12:54 AM
Good to hear you got the problem figured out!