PDA

View Full Version : Questions regarding practice for TBS Wing and FPV

Enovis
12th July 2012, 04:03 PM
Good afternoon,

While I am a complete nub when it comes to FPV, I have been flying RC planes for about 25 years. I have been flying some FPV with a multi-rotor platform, but I have never been a hover kind of guy.

So as I have been doing research and looking into plane based FPV, I have decided that my goal will be the TBS wing, but have not had any experience with the wing type platform.

Is there a good suggestion for a "trainer" for the wing style platform mainly just to learn the flight characteristics and such.

I am currently setting up a bixler to learn plane based FPV, but also wondered is FPV different from a traditional A-E-R aircraft and the Eleveron of the Wing?

Trappy
12th July 2012, 04:07 PM
A Bixler is a good plane to start. Truthfully a Zephyr will be as tough to fly as you fly it. You can relax it and after 3-4 flights you will be comfortable with it. Once you make it nose-heavy on purpose and dash down mountain cliffs that's when it starts to become a challenge :) So it's completely up to you. Personally I think if you can manage a Bixler and you've got the basic idea of planes laid out (stall speed, landing, recovery from stalls, etc) a wing will actually be easier to fly.

Vitamin J
12th July 2012, 04:11 PM
Swift or a Tek Sumo/Popwing make great wing trainers because they are cheap, durable, and easy to launch.

Lots of differences but the fundamentals are the same. The wing is more efficient, faster, and better in wind but will be less stable, won't self-level, and have less room for gear. When flying you might miss the rudder but it's about the same except less stable.

Scotttu
12th July 2012, 04:15 PM
What Trappy said, for range and fun there is no finer, but for ease of flight in tight spaces I use my EZStar.

But I love to fly that Zephyr!