PDA

View Full Version : Tricopter wont hover



gsxbozzy
20th June 2012, 07:39 AM
HI guys, ive built my fpvmanuals delrin tricopter and all was going well...
I had it hovering quite well the other night but now i cant seem to get it anywhere without alot of stick input!
Ive done this so far:
Calibrated the esc’s
Got a different prop on the front left
Got my duel rates set to 55 low 75 high
Expo at 30 on aileron and elevator
Throttle curve nearly straight just flattened a little in the middle.
Correct CG

All it seems to want to do is lift the front up, ive sub-trimmed the elevator to MAX and it only just tries to take off level... Something has to be wrong.
Iknow it shouldn’t have that much sub-trim ...

Help??

Update: sorry forgot to say im using HK KK board v2.1 - ive flashed it to 2.5/1.6kk/and now 1.5 and none make a difference.

Johnny
20th June 2012, 07:42 AM
What FC are you using?

gsxbozzy
20th June 2012, 07:52 AM
sorry forgot to say im using HK KK board v2.1 - ive flashed it to 2.5/1.6kk/and now 1.5 and none make a difference.

Hans
20th June 2012, 09:09 AM
Sounds like you have to reverse a Gyro :)

gsxbozzy
20th June 2012, 10:53 AM
all the gyros are correct i thought that one..

Derrick
20th June 2012, 12:05 PM
This may sound stupid... Are all of the motors turning in the proper direction?

Have you checked all the motors to make sure that there isn't excessive load/binding? The DT750s are known for being able to pull the shaft by over tightening the prop nut.

Have you verified that the motors speed up when the tricopter is "tilted" in different directions?

Have you calibrated your ESCs?

Just throwing out ideas here on what I would try and or look at.

volto
20th June 2012, 12:34 PM
Did you try adjusting the gyro gains? I turn them up until it oscillates and then back them off slightly.

Johnny
20th June 2012, 02:55 PM
I have the same board on my tri.
I have to set trims to neutral then arm. Then set trims back.

If I do not, I get the same results as you do.

Because of that, I have never used the sub-trim on my radio with a KK board. (easier not having to go into the menus)

Other than that issue, it usually flies great. Very stable and agile.

gsxbozzy
21st June 2012, 04:08 AM
Thanks ill try that method, ive tried everything else so its worth a go.
Just when you think your geting somewhere and flying it does a stupid thing...:-(