PDA

View Full Version : Factors affecting ability to successfully hand launch

Flyswamper
28th September 2014, 08:08 PM
Hi folks,

Relative newbie here. Have my Z3 put together and have made a few flights with her. The first flights were done before I put any fpv gear on the plane. I was able to successfully hand launch it for each flight with the following setup and conditions:

2x 3S batteries (4200+5100mah), Castle 75A ESC, Eflite Power25 1250kv, 10x5e prop
In all my successful early flights (perhaps 5 or 6) I generally had noticeable amount of wind.
(maiden flight video showing a successful hand launch (http://youtu.be/JaB8FMFhtjo))

Fast forward to this weekend.... the antenna that I had been waiting on arrived and I added fpv gear to the Z3. Things added include:

400mw 1.3Vtx
1.3 Skew Planar antenna
Ritewing Mobius toughbox
flight camera
808#16 camera
associated cables
and a couple of air scoops made out of 1/2 of a plastic spoon for airflow.

So...having added the gear a flying buddy came over and I decided it was time to try to make a short range fpv flight with her. Trouble is I never got her into the air. I'm still inexperienced enough not to be certain of what the troubles really were. But... it seemed to me that she would just roll over and nose into the ground no matter what I did. I'm guessing I just wasn't getting enough speed and airflow over the control surfaces to have any control and get her into the air. At the field I just assumed it was the extra weight that made the difference. However, in hindsight I realize I had several factors I think might have been working to make it harder this time. Those include...

extra weight of the fpv gear
was a calm day, lack of headwind that I had on prior successful attempts
Also, I put in a single 3S 8000mah battery this time.