PDA

View Full Version : PPM EZ uhf cable



Greedz
27th October 2011, 11:27 PM
Having a little trouble - cut the futaba plug off the ezuhf cable to terminate it to an expansion module and cant seem to get a PPM signal. The green wire is PPM yes?

Noticed when I pulled the futaba plug apart all 4 wires were terminated yet the manual says only 3 are required? Red Black Green?

I've tried soldering to a Dx6i and my JR 10SX and getting no love...

M'ck'y
28th October 2011, 12:38 AM
I am also using the pins that usually goes into futaba modules, cause I wanted the trainer port to be available for head tracker use. I downloaded the manual off immersion rc's site and it worked flawlessly. I just can't remember the colours

http://www.immersionrc.com/manuals/EzUHFManual.pdf

I can send you a photo of it.

Greedz
28th October 2011, 01:41 AM
I am also using the pins that usually goes into futaba modules, cause I wanted the trainer port to be available for head tracker use. I downloaded the manual off immersion rc's site and it worked flawlessly. I just can't remember the colours

http://www.immersionrc.com/manuals/EzUHFManual.pdf

I can send you a photo of it.

I've tried both white and green and nothing.. Probably the 10SX its pretty old.. what radio are you using?

M'ck'y
28th October 2011, 01:51 AM
futaba 10cap ,, wait for the photo, i'll try to send as I get home in about 1 hr

Greedz
28th October 2011, 03:34 AM
Don't think its the cable...I think the tx is gone.

Sander, is the large chip on the PCB supposed to be cool? because It is pretty hot.

The unit powers by USB and you can place it into firmware update mode but there is no communication in or out. Not recognised on two different workstations.

ssassen
28th October 2011, 05:16 AM
Sander, is the large chip on the PCB supposed to be cool? because It is pretty hot.

Stone cold, you might've swapped a few wires around?

Greedz
28th October 2011, 05:27 AM
Wouldn't have thought so...I've hooked up a chainlink unit a hundred times. Pretty familiar with the expansion module pinout.

I did try using the white wire for ppm instead of green when I was trying to figure out why I wasn't getting a signal. Reckon that'd do it?

Bugger....how far off new stock are ya? Have to order another one.

ssassen
28th October 2011, 05:33 AM
Snap a few pics if you can and upload 'm, if something really is defective you can just ship to me for repairs, no worries, we take customer service seriously.

Greedz
28th October 2011, 05:51 AM
Just took a few snaps. Uploading now although its taking forever might have to put it on photobucket instead.

Greedz
28th October 2011, 05:59 AM
Here you go. I've put a red circle around a raise in the chip that is a concern.

I stupidly bought it second hand in a bid to beat the supply problem.. If it is buggered and not a manufacturing fault can I pay you to fix it?

http://i829.photobucket.com/albums/zz218/G-RideA4/DSC01933.jpg

http://i829.photobucket.com/albums/zz218/G-RideA4/DSC01932.jpg

http://i829.photobucket.com/albums/zz218/G-RideA4/DSC01931.jpg

sircana
28th October 2011, 06:00 AM
Maybe this can help you. It is the way a did the same to my Futaba 7C:
http://fpvlab.com/forums/showthread.php?1044-sircana-s-T-Rex-450-FPV-build-log&p=14380&viewfull=1#post14380

ssassen
28th October 2011, 09:31 AM
Here you go. I've put a red circle around a raise in the chip that is a concern.

That IC is gone, can you send it in for repairs? PM me and I'll send you my address. There's no need to pay for the repair.

Greedz
31st October 2011, 05:02 PM
Thank you Sander, very much appreciated. You have a PM.

scallopking
5th December 2011, 04:18 PM
Hi guys, I'm new to the forum. I hope to be a proud new owner of a EZUHF next week. My question is as follows: I want to make my own cable from the transmitter to the ezuhf which is not a problem, but how long can the cable be? Can the cable be too long?
Thanks.