PDA

View Full Version : TBS Discovery and Pitch&Roll Gimbal integration



Sil20
16th July 2013, 12:40 PM
Hi, I integrate a Pitch&Roll Gimbal on hmy TBS Discovery, it is controlled by the NAZA board.
I used some of the TBS frame circuit board to have an easy plug&unplug gimbal system.
I did not connect another ground from NAZA to TBS frame in order to avoid ground loop.

But, when I power the copter, 9 times on 10 the ESC beeps like the NAZA is not powered (short circuit).
If I unplug the gimbal, power the Copter, it is OK, then I connect the Gimbal afterward, it is still OK an I can fly.

It seems like the NAZA power unit is going to safety at startup but I cannot understand the reason. Hereafter is a photo and a diagram of the wiring.

Does anyone has an explaination? or an advice ?
Thanks a lot:

http://imageshack.us/a/img690/3549/54qb.jpghttp://imageshack.us/a/img198/2803/vm84.jpg

motomoto
21st July 2013, 01:46 AM
Why are you controlling the pitch/roll of the gimbal through the Naza? I run mine straight from my board to my TX and it works great. I know the Naza has the option, it just seemed to complicate things for me. I'm also assuming your running a brushless gimbal, I can't tell from your pic.

What board (if brushless) are you running? I have the Quaternium gimbal which is running the Martinez board I believe but I'm pretty sure the AlexMos works the same. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong. I also power the gimbal through a separate 3s battery.

Sil20
21st July 2013, 02:52 AM
Hi,
Thanks for the reply but:
* My gimbal is not brushless but 2 servos controled
* There is no dedicated control board
* The NAZA take care of the pitch/roll stabilisation, it's simpler than having an extra gimbal control board.

So for my problem, I assume the problem comes from the ground of the TBS discovery circuit board which is not directly connected to the ground output of the NAVA voltage unit output. So maybe at startup the voltage unit is detecting a defect...

It looks looke this (before I modified it for Gopro3 and connector to the electrical circuit connector on the frame.
http://imageshack.us/scaled/thumb/21/global1p.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/21/global1p.jpg/)http://imageshack.us/scaled/thumb/12/derrieren.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/12/derrieren.jpg/)

motomoto
21st July 2013, 09:48 AM
Hi,
Thanks for the reply but:
* My gimbal is not brushless but 2 servos controled
* There is no dedicated control board
* The NAZA take care of the pitch/roll stabilisation, it's simpler than having an extra gimbal control board.

So for my problem, I assume the problem comes from the ground of the TBS discovery circuit board which is not directly connected to the ground output of the NAVA voltage unit output. So maybe at startup the voltage unit is detecting a defect...

It looks looke this (before I modified it for Gopro3 and connector to the electrical circuit connector on the frame.
http://imageshack.us/scaled/thumb/21/global1p.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/21/global1p.jpg/)http://imageshack.us/scaled/thumb/12/derrieren.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/12/derrieren.jpg/)

Understood. Good luck!