PDA

View Full Version : Is the 100A eLogger enough?



PeteDee
26th April 2013, 03:19 AM
Or should I get a 150A?

Plan on using it on my 450 (soon to be TBS Disco) quad with 300 watt 2826 1000kv motors but also plan on using it on my hex with 315 watt 2830 800kv motors.

I am just interested in getting one set of gear up and running to start with but make it modular for use in several multis/planes.

Real world do I need the 150A logger or will the 100A be plenty?

Cheers.

Pete

Teacup
26th April 2013, 06:27 AM
Well 315W at ~14V is around 22A
22*4 = 88A -> 100A is plenty

PeteDee
26th April 2013, 02:40 PM
Thanks and i fully understand that but I guess I did not ask the question well. Perhaps I should have asked, "should I just get a bigger logger in the first place in case I use more power later>, I am thinking that with little difference in price I may as well just do it but it seems the 100A unit is available everywhere and the 150A unit is not.

Cheers.

Pete

Teacup
26th April 2013, 02:55 PM
Ah okay.
I guess the 100A should be plenty.
And not sure bout the ET CS but most just don't show if it is > max rating and blow up or anything.

PeteDee
26th April 2013, 03:24 PM
Also as I said I may use it on my hex so that would be 22*6.

It is only the max rating though and under "normal" conditions it will be much less than max.

Pete

EAGLETREE
26th April 2013, 03:29 PM
Hi Pete,

The 100 amp version will not correctly report current greater than about 100 amps. So, if you have spikes > than 100 amps, those will not be recorded or displayed correctly.

PeteDee
26th April 2013, 04:57 PM
So with a quad/hex then should you just use the reading from one ESC and multiply the onscreen reading so you know roughly how much power you have used?

I am using radios with telemetry that I can read pack voltage anyway but I do like the idea of knowing how much I have left from an onscreen readout.

New to OSD and loggers so just trying to get a good handle on it all.

Thanks.

Pete

PeteDee
27th April 2013, 10:04 PM
No one?

I think I will save the little extra and get the 150 amp, not a lot of cost and lots more margin for bigger birds.

So who has the 150 amp with reasonable postage, some of the postage rates I have seen for small items is just crazy?

Pete

PeteDee
29th April 2013, 06:25 AM
Thanks for all the responses, ordered the 100A today along with GPS, Altitude sensor, Guardian expander and OSD Pro.

Pete