+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Tricopter Flight Control recommendations

Tricopter Flight Control recommendations

I am only fairly new to the world of RC flying and have built my very first Tricopter using the Delrin kit. Initially, I was running the HK KK board and just recently crashed and burned (literally) video here:

http://youtu.be/Rn0wZajxfBE

Anyway, what's left of the Tricopter is now in pieces as I start to rebuild it.
    What I am trying to do is to find a suitable FC for the Tricopter that gives me auto level and, possibly, a RTH feature. I have been looking around and have no idea what makes a 'good' FC and so forth and I also have no idea whether these will all work with my TX (Spektrum DX6i). I want to be able to use the Tri for FPV and aerial video work eventually.

My budget won't stretch as far as the Wookong, but I am happy to pay for quality.
    So far, I have looked at FC's such as FY21AP, FY31AP, NAZA32, Arducopter, etc, etc

Any suggestions or feedback would be greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by Ant; 22nd May 2012 at 02:55 AM.

To my knowledge, the Openpilot CC-board is one of the best and affordable out there. Unfortunately their production and distribution is somewhat... well, underpowered at least.

Thanks Hans,
    Yes I have heard a lot of good things about CC but I can't see anywhere that mentions whether it has a RTH feature. After crashing, that is a pretty big thing for me to have - just to get the confidence back.

Navigator
    Wow Ant, I can lose orientation at 20m, let alone 400m. These Tricopters seem to create an optical illusion with their legs, depending which way you look at them. I fly with a KK as well, and have broken almost every component on it multiple times.. 99% of the time it's losing orientation, and then "correcting" in the wrong way.