image
Page 8 of 18 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 171

Thread: IMPORTANT: BEC on ESC and Avoiding high current system ground loops

  1. #71
    Drone X Labs Team Pilot wyll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Humboldt
    Posts
    450
    ok how does this look. Will the recover still work like this.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	106 
Size:	51.8 KB 
ID:	34268  
    If you didn't build it, don't fly it!!!!
    also

    My Stuff : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC9F..._as=subscriber

  2. #72
    Kiwi in Germany whakahere's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,493
    Quote Originally Posted by fapelbaum View Post
    Thanks, meanwhile I fix the diagram moving the LC Power Filter and removing all you told me to... just for clarity and knowledge... can you tell me which wiring caused the current sensor circuit tracks to burn?
    That is the funny thing with your diagram, I am not sure why it burnt out. You don't have a ground loop that I can see. How many amps is your current sensor and how many amps were you pulling. Oh I know burnt out current sensors .... see that hand with a burnt out current sensor .... my hand and my current sensor
    Whaka's Tinkerings blog --> http://fpvlab.com/forums/showthread.php?36623-Whaka-s-Tinkering&p=631753#post631753
    Battle H Virus (home build basher quad tutorial) --> ]http://fpvlab.com/forums/showthread.php?12544-Tutorial-Battle-H-Virus
    Range record on 5.8ghz 200mw 24km --> http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1441664

    The one thing I know how to do well with FPV - crash. All in a day of fun!
    I believe landing is a full body experience .... I do my best to aim for your body.

  3. #73
    Kiwi in Germany whakahere's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,493
    Quote Originally Posted by wyll View Post
    ok how does this look. Will the recover still work like this.
    Your receiver now needs a ground ... either get it from the esc or the osd. Personally I spider all grounds from one point so I would ground your receiver from the osd (no ground from esc to receiver).
    Whaka's Tinkerings blog --> http://fpvlab.com/forums/showthread.php?36623-Whaka-s-Tinkering&p=631753#post631753
    Battle H Virus (home build basher quad tutorial) --> ]http://fpvlab.com/forums/showthread.php?12544-Tutorial-Battle-H-Virus
    Range record on 5.8ghz 200mw 24km --> http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1441664

    The one thing I know how to do well with FPV - crash. All in a day of fun!
    I believe landing is a full body experience .... I do my best to aim for your body.

  4. #74
    Quote Originally Posted by whakahere View Post
    That is the funny thing with your diagram, I am not sure why it burnt out. You don't have a ground loop that I can see. How many amps is your current sensor and how many amps were you pulling. Oh I know burnt out current sensors .... see that hand with a burnt out current sensor .... my hand and my current sensor
    Hi, thanks for the info... I bought another current sensor... but I am afraid it will happen again... Since we are note sure the reason why... The current sensor came with a cyclops Breeze OSD... it holds up to 100A... I only been using a 3S 3300 11.1 Battery....

    Now... What I can say... its while I tested the OSD just powering the video (no escs to motors, rx, CC board) it did not happen to show any problems... Then, after I plugged everything and hide all the wires, ready to say it was a completed job... that is when it happened... about 8-10 seconds after powering the system. Any ideas?

    Here is my new diagram.... let me know if it looks alright to you...

    layout-v5.pdfClick image for larger version. 

Name:	layout-v5.jpg 
Views:	83 
Size:	106.3 KB 
ID:	34274

    Thanks!!

    Fabio
    Last edited by fapelbaum; 21st October 2013 at 03:24 PM.

  5. #75
    Kiwi in Germany whakahere's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,493
    strange that you had nothing else plugged in. ground loops only fry things when you get a high power discharge along the line. Your issue isn't a ground loop. check you have everything plugged in correctly. It sounds like you might have had a +ve and -ve swapped somewhere.

    Oh to power the receiver, you don't need to use another esc. get the ground from the cc3d. (not from another esc). Basically have one servo pin that has all the headers (ground, +ve, signal) going to the osd. the from there take the +ve, ground and signal wires to the receiver. Oh you can have all the grounds from each esc going if you wish as it won't effect anything. I often just remove the +ve from all but one esc.
    Whaka's Tinkerings blog --> http://fpvlab.com/forums/showthread.php?36623-Whaka-s-Tinkering&p=631753#post631753
    Battle H Virus (home build basher quad tutorial) --> ]http://fpvlab.com/forums/showthread.php?12544-Tutorial-Battle-H-Virus
    Range record on 5.8ghz 200mw 24km --> http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1441664

    The one thing I know how to do well with FPV - crash. All in a day of fun!
    I believe landing is a full body experience .... I do my best to aim for your body.

  6. #76
    Quote Originally Posted by whakahere View Post
    strange that you had nothing else plugged in. ground loops only fry things when you get a high power discharge along the line. Your issue isn't a ground loop. check you have everything plugged in correctly. It sounds like you might have had a +ve and -ve swapped somewhere.

    Oh to power the receiver, you don't need to use another esc. get the ground from the cc3d. (not from another esc). Basically have one servo pin that has all the headers (ground, +ve, signal) going to the osd. the from there take the +ve, ground and signal wires to the receiver. Oh you can have all the grounds from each esc going if you wish as it won't effect anything. I often just remove the +ve from all but one esc.
    I will check, hopefully everything its connected properly and will let you know. regarding how to plug the rx... the way you mentioned its the way I had it... But for some reason my CC board was not delivering the same voltage to the Rx... what I did to check, I plugged the voltmeter and checked the voltage coming from the esc and was 4.88~apx.... That will be the voltage going to the CC board.... Then I checked the voltage going from the board into the rx and it was 4.4~v apx.... So the rx it's getting less than 5v... I dont know if that is a problem.. but to make sure my rx did not suffer on voltage, I decided to plug the rx to the esc Bec and the CC board from the rx... What do you think? If you believe there is not a problem... would you think this diagram would be OK? check it out. If you recommend otherwise, I will hook it up the way it was.

    layout-v6.pdfClick image for larger version. 

Name:	layout-v6.jpg 
Views:	109 
Size:	103.3 KB 
ID:	34282

    Thanks!

  7. #77
    Drone X Labs Team Pilot wyll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Humboldt
    Posts
    450
    Quote Originally Posted by whakahere View Post
    Your receiver now needs a ground ... either get it from the esc or the osd. Personally I spider all grounds from one point so I would ground your receiver from the osd (no ground from esc to receiver).
    Don't use this setup. I used it and it blew up my instead put the lc filter between the osd and the vtx
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	93 
Size:	54.8 KB 
ID:	34283  
    Last edited by wyll; 26th October 2013 at 02:57 PM.
    If you didn't build it, don't fly it!!!!
    also

    My Stuff : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC9F..._as=subscriber

  8. #78
    Kiwi in Germany whakahere's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,493
    Quote Originally Posted by fapelbaum View Post
    I will check, hopefully everything its connected properly and will let you know. regarding how to plug the rx... the way you mentioned its the way I had it... But for some reason my CC board was not delivering the same voltage to the Rx... what I did to check, I plugged the voltmeter and checked the voltage coming from the esc and was 4.88~apx.... That will be the voltage going to the CC board.... Then I checked the voltage going from the board into the rx and it was 4.4~v apx.... So the rx it's getting less than 5v... I dont know if that is a problem.. but to make sure my rx did not suffer on voltage, I decided to plug the rx to the esc Bec and the CC board from the rx... What do you think? If you believe there is not a problem... would you think this diagram would be OK? check it out. If you recommend otherwise, I will hook it up the way it was.

    layout-v6.pdfClick image for larger version. 

Name:	layout-v6.jpg 
Views:	109 
Size:	103.3 KB 
ID:	34282

    Thanks!
    That is a clean layout and you shouldn't have any issue if wired correctly. You grounds all center off the current sensor. I like it. oh a side note, the gopro does spit out noise so if you can shield your gopro lines (especially that audio cable) and the cable going from the osd to the vtx your system will be cleaner. Make sure you twist all wires. ALWAYS twist wires.

    Quote Originally Posted by wyll View Post
    Ok like this
    no, ground from the osd to the receiver. Your way will work but it is just a pita to wire up.
    Last edited by whakahere; 21st October 2013 at 05:49 PM.
    Whaka's Tinkerings blog --> http://fpvlab.com/forums/showthread.php?36623-Whaka-s-Tinkering&p=631753#post631753
    Battle H Virus (home build basher quad tutorial) --> ]http://fpvlab.com/forums/showthread.php?12544-Tutorial-Battle-H-Virus
    Range record on 5.8ghz 200mw 24km --> http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1441664

    The one thing I know how to do well with FPV - crash. All in a day of fun!
    I believe landing is a full body experience .... I do my best to aim for your body.

  9. #79
    Drone X Labs Team Pilot wyll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Humboldt
    Posts
    450
    Quote Originally Posted by whakahere View Post
    no, ground from the osd to the receiver. Your way will work but it is just a pita to wire up.
    Don't use this setup. I used it and it blew up my instead put the lc filter between the osd and the vtx
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	74 
Size:	53.3 KB 
ID:	34284  
    Last edited by wyll; 26th October 2013 at 02:58 PM.
    If you didn't build it, don't fly it!!!!
    also

    My Stuff : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC9F..._as=subscriber

  10. #80
    Quote Originally Posted by whakahere View Post
    That is a clean layout and you shouldn't have any issue if wired correctly. You grounds all center off the current sensor. I like it. oh a side note, the gopro does spit out noise so if you can shield your gopro lines (especially that audio cable) and the cable going from the osd to the vtx your system will be cleaner. Make sure you twist all wires. ALWAYS twist wires.
    Thanks a lot for all your help! I will try to work on it this weekend! I did find out that the cable I got for my gopro 3 from readymaderc was faulty, I checked continuity and red and black wires were intersecting... Somewhere in there I believe was the reason for the current sensor to burn.. It makes sense now that we know it had nothing to do with a ground loop.

    One more question... I know you told me I don't need a ubec, and I can power just fine from the esc bec, what would be the difference? Do I get more / less noise one way or the other? Is it really worth it or not to add an extra piece of equipment?.

Page 8 of 18 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 119
    Last Post: 10th June 2012, 09:25 AM
  2. Wiring diagram - ground loops?
    By Pooch in forum RC TECH
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 30th December 2011, 03:12 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10th October 2011, 04:50 PM
  4. How important is plaiting the wires between your ESC and brushless motor?
    By Ian Davidson in forum IFR - Video Link Discussion
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 20th September 2011, 03:22 AM
  5. New Data Link System, or Team Black Sheep Ground Station?
    By realtvnow FPV in forum Ground Stations...
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 14th April 2011, 07:54 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •