image
Page 3 of 18 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 171

Thread: IMPORTANT: BEC on ESC and Avoiding high current system ground loops

  1. #21
    FPV Legendary Loser Mark Hitchman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    606
    Quote Originally Posted by Coyote View Post
    Will the current sensor rail / lead take the current needed to power say a 1 watt vtx, camera, and the current for the servos etc powered off Bec and Osd too ?
    That could be ~6 amps drawn through that tiny track on the current sensor, I think it is better to attach the BEC to the deans plug connection (ESC side) on the current sensor.

    Mark

  2. #22
    Navigator
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    121
    Does this fpv wiring look good?




    Thanks
    Last edited by Coyote; 5th May 2011 at 01:07 PM.

  3. #23
    Super Moderator Coyote's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    857
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark Hitchman View Post
    That could be ~6 amps drawn through that tiny track on the current sensor, I think it is better to attach the BEC to the deans plug connection (ESC side) on the current sensor.

    Mark
    This is what i mean though, if you followed the diagram to the tee and were using such equipment you`d fry the OSD current sensor track in seconds
    Last edited by Coyote; 5th May 2011 at 01:07 PM.

  4. #24
    Super Moderator Coyote's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    857
    No, the step up doesnt have a -ve going to it so wount step up the 5v to 12v. The Ubec will need a -ve taken to it as well as its -ve might be isolated from the supply -ve

  5. #25
    Navigator
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    121
    Quote Originally Posted by Coyote View Post
    No, the step up doesnt have a -ve going to it so wount step up the 5v to 12v. The Ubec will need a -ve taken to it as well as its -ve might be isolated from the supply -ve
    Well if I do so, I think I'll get a ground loop

  6. #26
    FPV Legendary Loser Mark Hitchman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    606
    Quote Originally Posted by Coyote View Post
    This is what i mean though, if you followed the diagram to the tee and were using such equipment you`d fry the OSD current sensor track in seconds
    Totally agree, the diagram is changed somewhere with the takeoff on the main +ve and -ve connections on the current sensor.

    Mark

  7. #27
    Super Moderator Coyote's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    857
    Quote Originally Posted by HF_ATL View Post
    Well if I do so, I think I'll get a ground loop
    Yes thats right, ok here`s what i`d do :

    1) Ditch the 5v from ESC to Step up

    2) Use the 5v from the Ubec to supply the Step up

    3) Make the connection to UBec as close to current sensor as possible

    Last edited by Coyote; 5th May 2011 at 07:20 PM.

  8. #28
    Im lost
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Rio Brasil
    Posts
    2,891
    and this is how I toasted my current sensor track and OSD.... should have been reading around more often... Does it mean that high currents were flowing back from the signal lines from the RX ( channel 7 and buffered RSSI )??? ahhhh, maybe the buffered RSSI made the trick... because it used to work fine until I modded something... ack...


  9. #29
    FPV Legendary Loser Mark Hitchman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    606
    Quote Originally Posted by roberto View Post
    and this is how I toasted my current sensor track and OSD.... should have been reading around more often... Does it mean that high currents were flowing back from the signal lines from the RX ( channel 7 and buffered RSSI )??? ahhhh, maybe the buffered RSSI made the trick... because it used to work fine until I modded something... ack...

    Where did you power your servos from?

    Mark

  10. #30
    Im lost
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Rio Brasil
    Posts
    2,891
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark Hitchman View Post
    Where did you power your servos from?

    Mark
    From the R/C Rx. Its a Simple OSD XL.

    The funny thing is that it ran good for many flights... I think the problem happened when I connected RSSI and ch7 ( for switching OSD screens ).

    DOSD on the way, so I want to be sure I get everything right b4 putting it in.

    I do have a CC Bec lying around, time to get it going.

Page 3 of 18 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 119
    Last Post: 10th June 2012, 10:25 AM
  2. Wiring diagram - ground loops?
    By Pooch in forum RC TECH
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 30th December 2011, 04:12 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10th October 2011, 05:50 PM
  4. How important is plaiting the wires between your ESC and brushless motor?
    By Ian Davidson in forum IFR - Video Link Discussion
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 20th September 2011, 04:22 AM
  5. New Data Link System, or Team Black Sheep Ground Station?
    By realtvnow FPV in forum Ground Stations...
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 14th April 2011, 08:54 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •