image
Page 16 of 18 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 LastLast
Results 151 to 160 of 171

Thread: IMPORTANT: BEC on ESC and Avoiding high current system ground loops

  1. #151
    FPV Techanic RonSII's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    PNW USA
    Posts
    3,380
    Quote Originally Posted by ke123 View Post
    I had problems on a plush 80 ESC doing that. Around strong RF i'd have random spool ups if i disconnected the ESC ground from RVOSD.
    If you do this in the house, keep the prop off and put your radio (on) near the plane until you make sure this doesn't happen on your end. I have a table with a large gouge in it due to this play safe
    I think if mine did this I would put a shunt of some sort(10-20k ohm) on the signal wire(esc side) just to be safe.

  2. #152
    Here is my system. It is mostly OK now thanks to this thread but I still have some lines when I move my servos a lot

    I can see the potential ground loop in the in the Tornado OSD itself but I am not sure removing one of the GND would be a good Idea...

    Thanks in advance.
    Recommendations?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PowerPlan.png 
Views:	251 
Size:	37.1 KB 
ID:	58266  

  3. #153
    Navigator
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Oceanside, Ca
    Posts
    374
    Yes there is a loop with the Current Sensor and also one with the LC Filter.
    Make the Regulator your only ground to the OSD.
    TwinStar Brotherhood
    MyFlyDream Twin

  4. #154
    Drone X Labs Team Pilot wyll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Humboldt
    Posts
    450
    you might want to cut the ground after the bec also, On the storm at least, all the grounds are connected, weather 5v or 12v
    If you didn't build it, don't fly it!!!!
    also

    My Stuff : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC9F..._as=subscriber

  5. #155
    OK, I removed the ground line in the Tornado itself by cutting the 12V ground. It is better but I still have a little bit of lines when moving the servos.

    The current sensor is not responsible (I tried with the connector removed). Maybe I should take the power for the 5V before the LC Filter or even before the 12V regulator, there is no need for it to be filtered anyways.

  6. #156
    Could somebody take a look at my diagram? I am unsure if it possible to implement my setup with a video switch and cameras on two different voltage without a ground loop? Thanks!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0194.jpg 
Views:	140 
Size:	157.5 KB 
ID:	58517  

  7. #157
    FPV Techanic RonSII's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    PNW USA
    Posts
    3,380
    Quote Originally Posted by adamtoolanen View Post
    Could somebody take a look at my diagram? I am unsure if it possible to implement my setup with a video switch and cameras on two different voltage without a ground loop? Thanks!

    most of the major hardware has linked(common) grounds... ie... PH, CS, RX, BEC and VS so you don't need to run a separate ground to them just one to a central point in the wiring like the PH.

    so, how many batteries are you using here? 3-4... you only need 1

    and... what is the 'video in' box?

  8. #158

    IMPORTANT: BEC on ESC and Avoiding high current system ground loops

    Hi,

    I had two batteries, one for video and one for everything else. You were right though. I went and cut probably 5 grounds and everything still works. Video in is where video signal enters the Vector. It leaves the vector through a Video Tx plug.

    I was using 2 batts because I was seeing throttle dependent interference but I'm going to try some lc filters instead.

  9. #159
    Navigator
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    96
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untitled.jpg 
Views:	115 
Size:	157.6 KB 
ID:	63746

    does this look right? or do i need to cut the ground from stepdown to the FC?

  10. #160
    Navigator giteart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    362
    From my understanding you should cut the ground from stepdown to FC and also cut the red wire as well. Your FC is powered from the rx.
    No need to power it from elsewhere also.

Page 16 of 18 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 119
    Last Post: 10th June 2012, 09:25 AM
  2. Wiring diagram - ground loops?
    By Pooch in forum RC TECH
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 30th December 2011, 03:12 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10th October 2011, 04:50 PM
  4. How important is plaiting the wires between your ESC and brushless motor?
    By Ian Davidson in forum IFR - Video Link Discussion
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 20th September 2011, 03:22 AM
  5. New Data Link System, or Team Black Sheep Ground Station?
    By realtvnow FPV in forum Ground Stations...
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 14th April 2011, 07:54 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •