www.immersionrc.com

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30

Thread: Vortex flight modes

  1. #1

    Vortex flight modes

    When I switch fly modes they change on the OSD but no change in flight characteristics, it seems that it's in Acro mode all the time? What am I missing?

  2. #2
    FPV Techanic RonSII's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    PNW USA
    Posts
    3,384
    How are your profiles set up in cleanflight?


    http://fpvlab.com/forums/showthread....x-flight-modes
    Last edited by RonSII; 4th June 2015 at 02:50 AM. Reason: added link

  3. #3
    All default, set to Profile 1 and Pro tune 1

  4. #4
    Navigator
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    137
    Quote Originally Posted by weeeza View Post
    All default, set to Profile 1 and Pro tune 1

    Because most of the pro tunes are not even configured to work in all modes, only acro really.

    Shame they dont tell you that, been a lot of chrashes when people switch modes and expect some stabilization.

    The whole pro tune thing is a bit of a waste of time, would be far better to have several tunes for different prop/battery/camera setups that work well in all modes as a good starter rather that something highly specific to a pro flyer, maybe people think pro tunes will make them fly like all the pre release videos made by the pros.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by markab View Post
    Because most of the pro tunes are not even configured to work in all modes, only acro really.

    Shame they dont tell you that, been a lot of chrashes when people switch modes and expect some stabilization.

    The whole pro tune thing is a bit of a waste of time, would be far better to have several tunes for different prop/battery/camera setups that work well in all modes as a good starter rather that something highly specific to a pro flyer, maybe people think pro tunes will make them fly like all the pre release videos made by the pros.
    So which one can I choose to have angle/horizon modes work?

  6. #6
    His Royal Sassiness ssassen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    9,623
    Quote Originally Posted by markab View Post
    The whole pro tune thing is a bit of a waste of time, would be far better to have several tunes for different prop/battery/camera setups that work well in all modes as a good starter rather that something highly specific to a pro flyer, maybe people think pro tunes will make them fly like all the pre release videos made by the pros.
    Strongly disagree, the pro tune profiles will set the Vortex up to the specifics of the pilot's profile selected. This makes much of the tuning and fiddling with PIDs a thing of the past as it is set up properly from the get-go. For example I was flying like Ummagawd minutes after selecting his profile.

    The downside is obviously that you have to have piloting skills before you can start doing that. There's no shortcuts here, you don't suddenly fly like Ummagawd just because you selected his profile.
    Purveyor of the FPV secret sauce at ImmersionRC

  7. #7
    Instructor Pilot
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    5,446
    Bwahahah, sander flying like ummagawd... Suuuuure buddy, just so long as there are no lamp posts near by huh?

  8. #8
    FPV Techanic RonSII's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    PNW USA
    Posts
    3,384
    ^^ heh heh .... 'For example I was flying like Ummagawd minutes after selecting his profile. ' he forgot to add ' for all of 3 seconds until I hit the lamp post'

  9. #9
    Navigator
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    137
    Quote Originally Posted by ssassen View Post
    Strongly disagree, the pro tune profiles will set the Vortex up to the specifics of the pilot's profile selected. This makes much of the tuning and fiddling with PIDs a thing of the past as it is set up properly from the get-go. For example I was flying like Ummagawd minutes after selecting his profile.

    The downside is obviously that you have to have piloting skills before you can start doing that. There's no shortcuts here, you don't suddenly fly like Ummagawd just because you selected his profile.
    Yes but do you not think it would have been worth spending some more time developing some fully working basic profiles for obvious setup's first. I have still a lot of practice to do to get any where need good, but it would be more valuable to me to have some good solid base profiles I can tune from as I progress.

    I think if a pilot can fully take advantage of the pro tunes they are probably experienced enough to tune it up how they would like anyway.

    Any of the pro tunes I have tried with the suggested prop, battery and camera combination I have generally found bad oscillation, yaw out or lean so I am not quite sure what I am supposed to get out of them anyway.

  10. #10
    His Royal Sassiness ssassen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    9,623
    Quote Originally Posted by markab View Post
    Yes but do you not think it would have been worth spending some more time developing some fully working basic profiles for obvious setup's first.
    There's several, the stock profile is very docile and anyone with some typical quad or RC-heli flying experience will be able to fly it. If your experience is limited to flying a Phantom in GPS mode exclusively you're better off practicing in ATTI or manual mode on that first.

    The Vortex is a race quad, it requires the pilot to at least have some prior experience, lacking that it indeed will be difficult to handle.
    Purveyor of the FPV secret sauce at ImmersionRC

Similar Threads

  1. Vortex flight modes
    By bourney in forum ImmersionRC Support
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 18th December 2016, 11:54 PM
  2. Vortex stopped switching modes
    By JavierBayArea in forum ImmersionRC Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd May 2015, 03:07 PM
  3. Can`t switch Gemini flight modes
    By donbene in forum ImmersionRC
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th January 2015, 12:27 PM
  4. Flight modes and PID's related?
    By Hollywood911 in forum OSDs & Flight Controllers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th August 2014, 12:57 AM
  5. APM Flight modes setup on DX7s???
    By SKT in forum OSDs & Flight Controllers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd March 2014, 12:24 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •