Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Ruby Flight Controller review

Navigator

Ruby Flight Controller review

Just a short report on my new autopilot , the “Ruby” from www.uthere.com.
    I have been playing with autopilots for about 3 years now, starting with the Attopilot and the APM 2.0, with various success, the Atto was good for fixed wing and the APM 2.0 good for multirotor, I had no luck with fixed wing however.
    With some research, I decided to leave the open source arena and try a Ruby, designed and supported by Jim Hall at Uthere.

I bought the unit from desireRC here in the UK, it comes with the main board, the brain and an expander board, shown as an extra free of charge, but I think it is really essential as it contains the micro SD card, which I will explain later.

The system is really small and very light, the hardware looks about 5 years ahead of the APM, its so compact and lot less complex (less things to fail). The leads are very fine but tough, one thing that annoys me, is a compact bit of electronics and then a ton of inflexible wiring that looks like mains cable, this is soft and flexible and can be easily sunk into an epp foam or tucked away.

You also get a small GPS unit and a pitot/mag sensor all in one unit, plus loads of leads and other bits including a micro sd card with full size adaptor, nice touch, this has been really thought out.

Most of the instructions are on line, and these are comprehensive and clear, although quite long in places. Its states in many places that if you difficulty then contact Jim via email, ok that’s going to be tested.

Installation is very simple, as far as I can see, you can install it in any orientation, upside down, sideways whatever fits best in your plane.